Freddy T. Nguyen, MD, PhD

Transfusion Medicine Fellow @ Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center

Research Fellow @ Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Physician-scientist with extensive experience developing and translating nanotechnologies and biomedical optical technologies from the bench to clinic in areas of genetics, oncology, and cardiovascular diseases. Extensive leadership experience in community building in healthcare innovation, research, medical, and physician-scientist communities.

2017 Class of Arnold O. Beckman Postdoctoral Fellows


Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation – June 6, 2017

The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation announced today its 2017 class of Arnold O. Beckman Postdoctoral Fellows, individuals who underscore the Foundation’s mission of supporting basic research in the chemistry and life sciences. They were selected after a three-part review led by a panel of scientific experts.


The Foundation will award more than $2.6 million in funding for 20 exceptional research fellows from 13 universities:

Marco Allodi, Ph.D., University of Chicago
Beau Alward, Ph.D., Stanford University
Kumar Ashtekar, Ph.D., Yale University
Stephanie Barros, Ph.D., New York University
Liela Bayeh, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Furqan Fazal, Ph.D., Stanford University
Jesse Isaacman-Beck, Ph.D., Stanford University
Cory Knoot, Ph.D., Washington University in St. Louis
Michael Lambrecht, Ph.D., Scripps Research Institute
Danielle Mai, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Kira Mosher, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Freddy Nguyen, M.D., Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
James Nunez, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco
Elena Schroeter, Ph.D., North Carolina State University
Massa Shoura, Ph.D., Stanford University
Anna Simon, Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin
Eric Strobel, Ph.D., Northwestern University
Julianne Troiano, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
William Wolf, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
Dianne Xiao, Ph.D., Stanford University

“Supporting the next generation of researchers explore novel and unique research areas is a priority for the Foundation. We hope that these grants for high-risk projects will provide flexibility and creative freedom to these young scientists, preparing them for independent research careers.”
Dr. Anne Hultgren, Executive Director of the Beckman Foundation

The Arnold O. Beckman Postdoctoral Fellowship provides salary and research support to postdoctoral scholars with the highest potential for success in an independent academic career in chemistry and the life sciences, and to assist in their transition from mentored yet independent researchers to a tenure-track position. Funds for 2017 awardees will be issued this summer and extend over a period of up to three years.

Related Posts